Sunburn Flower Review: Petrol Station (Hybrid)

Petrol Station is the 5th “premium”, $55 eighth strain from Sunburn Cannabis. The previous 4, which I have reviewed here, are: Dulce De Uva, Grape Cream Cake, Chem D, and Chem De La Wilson. (As a “bonus”, I have reason to believe that MAC 1 might be strain #6. We will see!)

To summarize my experience with Sunburn’s flower so far: the flower that I got in grams (which was all of the strains above except for Chem D) were really high quality. The Chem D, which I got an eighth of, was unfortunately a miss.

I also happen to have some Petrol Station from Sunnyside in my cabinet (I will be reviewing that one soon too), and I was initially going to pass on picking up Sunburn’s version; that is, until I saw multiple images and posts on the Florida Medical Trees Subreddit all raving about it. I happened to need another good daytime strain, so I figured I would pick up an eighth and give it a shot.

Quick Facts:

Petrol Station

Price at time of review: $55/eighth

Lineage: GMO x Chem De La Sour

Lab Report

Appearance/Cure

After a less than good experience with Sunburn’s Chem D, I have been a bit hesitant to pick up any more eighths from them. In fact, I would have gotten a gram of Petrol Station if my store hadn’t already sold out of them.

That ended up not mattering, though, because Sunburn nailed it with this eighth. This is similar or better quality to their grams that I have tried and reviewed recently, and is up there with the quality of The Flowery’s flower that I also recently reviewed.

The cure and moisture content are just nearly perfect. The very edge of the outside of the nugs has that crisp feel, but the nugs are not dry at all. They are dense and spongy, and also break down to the perfect fluffy consistency.

This is also very sticky flower. I broke a nug in half and found that one half stuck to my finger. I then flung and waved my finger around almost as hard as I could, trying to get the nug to fly off. It wouldn’t budge.

The trichome coverage is abundant and has a nice mix of amber and milky. The trim is near immaculate as well.

If Sunburn does this with every eighth, I will be back a lot more. If they would drop the price below $50 an eighth, I might have a new primary dispensary.

Appearance/Cure Rating: 9.80/10.00

Smell/Taste

Right out of the bag, Petrol Station has a smell that is equal parts herbal, earthy, and bad breath. There are hints of garlic, hash, and gas as well. All of this is about a “4” on a 1-10 scale of intensity, of course with 10 being the “loudest”, most pungent flower. I’ve found that to be the case with a lot of GMO crosses in my experience. They really only truly shine when the buds are broken up.

That is again the case with this eighth of Petrol Station. Breaking it open reveals a delightful bouquet of funky garlic from the GMO parent, a little sweet hash, and even a hint of the Sour Diesel that’s in its lineage. There’s even some kushy notes that remind me of Triangle Kush’s pungent, sweet, hashy kush smell. The smell intensity when the flower is broken up goes up to about a “7”.

The taste when smoked is unique and pleasant: an earthy/spicy garlic on the inhale, with a more hashy garlic on the exhale.

Overall, Sunburn’s Petrol Station does well in this category.

Smell/Taste Rating: 7.50/10.00

Effects/Medical Use

This batch of Petrol Station is the type of strain that I warn new and low tolerance patients about. Especially when you take that first hit, I find this strain has the potential to push into near-“psychedelic” territory with the cerebral head change. This is definitely a sativa-dominant, daytime hybrid.

The strongest cerebral effects began to come on immediately and were very noticeable a couple of minutes after the first hit. They seemed to peak in intensity around the 20-40 minute mark, and stayed strong for hours afterward.

There’s something that is hard to explain or put into words, a subtle difference, in the effects of genuine high-quality cannabis that is truly grown and prepared with high standards. Some (admittedly insufficient) adjectives I would use are: more “full”, “whole”, or “complete”. There’s just a subtle added level of all the good things that cannabis makes us feel. This eighth of Petrol Stations is an example of that.

While this is a strong sativa-dominant hybrid, there is some subtle body relaxation that comes on as the effects progress. The real “star of the show” with Petrol Station, though, is the cerebral “sativa” effects.

Again, if Sunburn can keep up this quality, they have found another regular customer.

Effects Rating: 8.40/10.00

Overall Rating: 8.56/10.00

Overall, I would best describe this eighth of Petrol Station as an “excellent” hybrid strain from Sunburn.

There is no doubt that this is high quality cannabis for our market. I would firmly put Sunburn in the Top 3 for my area in the Northwest Panhandle. I’m watching them closely this year, and think it’s worth it for my readers to do the same. If they can keep this up, I can’t wait to see what’s to come. This Petrol Station certainly checked all the boxes for me.

Be well, healthy, wealthy, and happy!

Be sure to join our email subscriber list and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to stay up-to-date with all the latest in the Florida medical cannabis industry! You can find a quick-subscribe button in the right-hand column on this site. Thank you for taking the time to read; we genuinely hope you find this site beneficial to helping you as a patient!

2 thoughts on “Sunburn Flower Review: Petrol Station (Hybrid)

  1. Where can I get some PetrolStati

    Like

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close