MÜV Flower Review: Modified Grapes #6 (Indica)

Modified Grapes has been around at MÜV in a few different phenotypes for nearly the past year now. I’ve seen phenotypes #4, #5, and #6 available at my location throughout 2020 and early 2021.

This strain is another relatively “modern” genetic offering; it combines GMO Cookies (GSC x Chemdog) with Purple Punch (GDP x Larry OG) for a strain that often produces elaborate terpene profiles.

The particular eighth that I got is visually stunning, and it lives up to the strain’s reputation of being “frosty”, or covered in trichomes.

Quick Facts:

Modified Grapes (Phenotype #6) (Indica) 

Price at time of review: $50/eighth (T1)

Lineage: GMO x Purple Punch

Batch/Harvest Number: BU110121-5876MG

Cannabinoids

THC: 22.18%

CBD: 0.04%

Total Cannabinoids: 22.22%

Terpenes

Unfortunately, MÜV doesn’t make their lab reports available, so I have no terpene percentages to provide for this strain. Whenever this information becomes available, I will update this section with the terpenes and their percentages.

Appearance/Cure

Don’t worry: the black “specks” are holes from the auto-trimmer, not bugs. I checked!

MÜV’s T1 flower is $50 per eighth vs. the $40 price tag of their T2 flower, and the $32 for T3. Per their website:

Tier 1 ($50) and Tier 2 ($40) are selected based on potency, size, structure, terpene profiles and aroma. Tier 3 is based on size only.

https://altmedflorida.com/product/copy-copy-2/

This eighth of Modified Grapes #6 is absolutely beautiful, with one of the most dense trichome concentrations I’ve seen in some time. The trichome color also shows some amber tint, indicating that the plant was allowed to mature rather than being rushed for production.

The major issue with this eighth, however, is that it was very dry – on the borderline of being “crumble apart in your fingers” dry. When flower is this dry, it often zaps the bud of its smell and taste (I’ll get into that in the next section.) After 2 weeks with an Integra pack, the moisture content is better – but still dry.

Other than what appears to be an issue with the cure, this is a beautiful batch of flower – very colorful and appealing to the eye.

If the moisture content were better, this would be a knockout batch. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite get there, but it still manages a good score with all things considered.

Appearance/Cure Rating: 6.50/10.00

Smell/Taste

By all accounts, particularly from reviews of other batches on Reddit and other social media, Modified Grapes #6 should be a “loud”, pungent strain. Unfortunately, mine is not – at all. In fact, before the 2 weeks with the Integra pack, there was almost no smell at all.

After allowing my eighth to “cure” a little more with the boost pack, I can detect some of the terpene profile and smell. In the jar, my eighth is peppery and earthy, with slight hints of garlic.

When I break apart the buds or grind them up, I can detect a few more faint hints of a fruity smell and more of the garlic smell. However, I am still disappointed with the lack of smell in this eighth, especially after reading several rave reviews of the pungent, garlic, gassy smell of this strain. I will attribute my eighth’s lack of smell to the dryness and issues with the cure.

The taste when smoked is both sweet and musky, and seems to be more flavorful than expected with the weak smell.

If you’ve had a batch of Modified Grapes #6 that was better in the smell & taste category, drop a comment below this review and let us know!

Smell/Taste Rating: 4.00/10.00

Effects/Medical Use

Modified Grapes #6 has nice, balanced effects in my experience. While it leans a little toward body effects rather than cerebral, this strain seems more like a “hybrid” than “indica”.

To prepare for this review, I made sure that this was the first strain I medicated with this morning. I found that this strain did not cause me any type of anxiety, as some sativa strains have been doing to me lately. In fact, I felt relaxed and sociable, so this may be a good strain for social activity if your experiences generally line up with mine from strain to strain.

The body relaxation can get moderately heavy depending on dose, but I never find Modified grapes #6 to be sedating. In fact, I find this strain best suited for morning to early evening use. While it isn’t necessarily motivating or energizing, the relaxation and anxiolytic properties may make daytime tasks easier to accomplish due to the more balanced mindset it can induce.

Modified Grapes’ effects reminds me of another strain in its genetic family (it shares the Purple Punch parent): Slurricane.

Possibly good for treating:

  • Anxiety 
  • Minor aches and pains
  • Headaches and migraines
  • Minor nausea/gastrointestinal issues
  • General Relaxation 
  • Depression

I’m definitely no medical doctor, so please take the preceding conditions only as my own personal observations from using this strain and having experience with a multitude of different cannabis strains. Everybody is different, and every body reacts differently to various medications. 

Effects Rating: 6.50/10.00

Overall Rating: 5.66/10.00

Overall, I would best describe Modified Grapes #6 as a “slightly above average” indica strain from MÜV.

With this batch of flower, MÜV continues to impress me. Their grow team deserves recognition, because they have really turned around the quality of the flower in the latter half of 2020 and early 2021. Even though this batch of Modified Grapes #6 may have been a bit of a miss in the cure and smell categories, I’ve largely been impressed with what I’ve gotten from MÜV. I’ve went from feeling like it was “rolling the dice” buying their Tier 1, to feeling pretty confident I’m going to get a high quality eighth of cannabis. I’ll definitely be trying more of MÜV’s new strains in the near future, and reviewing them here for all of you.

Hope you all have a wonderful day – and thanks again for reading and being a subscriber to this site. I truly enjoy writing for it, and for all of you.

Be sure to join our email subscriber list and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to stay up-to-date with all the latest in the Florida medical cannabis industry! You can find a quick-subscribe button in the righthand column on this site. Thank you for taking the time to read; we genuinely hope you find this site beneficial to helping you as a patient.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.